A Dominant Man by Lena Black

Where to start where to start. I believe I was 6% into the book and I already knew that this book was going to be ridiculous. Turns out I was right. OK let’s go ahead and start with the good things about this book.
OK great, now that we have that out of the way let’s start with all the bad things about the book. Let’s sum it up.
We are introduced to Gabrielle, and Damian. Damian of course is your rich billionaire, CEO. Gabrielle, is your heiress to her family’s fortune, but also doesn’t really like talking about money. She meets Damien in a club, and he gives her his number which she doesn’t use. She later finds out that he’s the one buying the company she works for. After finding this out, he makes her go to lunch with him and then proceeds to tell her she should stay away from him. This is how I knew this book was about to fall apart. Gabrielle was minding her own damn business, with really no intentions of contacting Damien, other than thinking about it, he forces her to go to lunch with him and then says “you should stay away from me” Um…OK, she was but whatever, semantics. Fast forward to them arguing over some pointless shit I don’t even know what, nor do I care, I think an hour or a day goes by, and they’re at a party and they all of a sudden act like they can’t live without eachother. They then proceed to screw like rabbits the rest of the book. I found myself skipping pages, mostly the sex, because it was that boring. The way she describes her lady bits, is appalling and downright embarrassing. Gabrielle was immature, and mostly overreacted about basically everything that didn’t involve her, because she’s selfish.
I’ve concluded that this is the most unrealistic relationship there ever was. To seriously walk around with only 1 week of dating, and claiming they love each other, talking about moving in and marriage. You have got to be fucking kidding me. I’m sure this book could’ve had a lot of potential, but the mere fact that it was almost identical to FSOG, with some name changes, and an even dumber cast, it was pretty much the same. And don’t get me started on the horrible editing. Whoever the editor for this book was should be fired. To not know the difference between your, and you’re is unacceptable. And what the hell was up with the music. I felt like there was an unwritten agreement with iTunes. I think this book would’ve been more believable if the 2 characters were more believable as actual realistic lovers, and if this book wasn’t’ touted as this huge BDSM book, so that when the moment it happened the safe word was immediately thrown in. 2 stars, just out of generosity. I’m conflicted for even thinking of reading the 2nd book, or just skipping it altogether. But the best thing I will say, is this could easily be turned into a drinking game. Each time the word Culling or a grammatical error is spotted, take a shot. You’ll be drunk by chapter 2.

Leave a Reply

