Hush Hush by Anneliese Vandell

So, I haven’t done a review in awhile, and this was one that intrigued me based on the face that it said Fifty shades (which I’ll be honest I’m tired of everything being compared to that, since I can name so many books better) meets Revenge, cause I actually do watch that show and I LOVE IT. So, I actually was excited to read this.
Such a huge friggin mistake. Let’s start with April, who goes by the name of Sophia. She returns to New Orleans to basically seek revenge on the fact that her parents were sentenced to life in prison for a crime they may or may not have committed, and since she things that crime was “too harsh” she vows to seek revenge on everyone that put the there. This means going after the Hawthorne family, the judge, the attorney etc…She of course meets the Hawthorne son, and of course develops feelings for him, and of course he’s into that controlling bdsm. But for the sake of this review, let’s focus on “Sophia” With any book I’ve read, there’s always that person leading female that’s completely stupid. However with this one, we’re lead to believe that she’s supposed to be highly intelligent, because she’s going after this big rich family. Watching her do it, is downright embarrassing. She has no plan whatsoever. Everything seems like a huge mess, there’s no organization about anything, and it’s hard to believe that her and her so called cousin spent months planning this so called heist. Apparently this was read from the back of a cracker jack box. I don’t get it. Surely she could have gotten in touch with her parents to get their side of the story. I mean it’s not like they’re going anywhere with all that free time on their hands in prison. Send them a letter or something. At some point she didn’t even sound sure if her parents were guilty, all she knew was that “the punishment was harsh”. Give me a break. This girl was nuts, an immature 25 year old, that acted 12. She was hard to take in, and made the book hard to read in fact.

2 thoughts on “Hush Hush by Anneliese Vandell

    • I know I had such high hopes, I ended up reading book 2, since I was waiting for the release of another book and book 2 was worst. I’ll skip book 3 for sure. It was well written just a horrible storyline

      Like

Leave a Reply

