Sweet Ache by K. Bromberg

Being a huge K. Bromberg fan, I was aware of the hype for this book, so this was definitely on my list to read. I finally pushed it up on my list, and for some reason I was still hesitant to start it, but finally took the plunge for it. I honestly didn’t love it. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it.
This may contain spoilers. I found the first few chapters a bit boring. When I was first introduced to Quinlan in the Driven series, she came across as this fierce, I don’t take crap personality, but I didn’t really see any of that with her in this book. In fact she was kind of a spoiled brat, and the moment Hawk smiled, she seemed awfully willing to want to all of a sudden go to bed with him. Then there was Luke, who seemed to really like her, and Quinlan had the audacity to treat him like crap, and cheat on him while they were on a date. Yes, I know they weren’t technically dating, but seriously, who does that? A person who sat there and complained about how her own boyfriend cheated on her. Again, I know they weren’t dating, but who leaves their current date, to go get felt up in the bathroom by another guy, and then later on dry humps him on the sofa? So fast forward some really long inner monologues, that had me skipping over it. Some drama over a bet, that felt like this should’ve been taken place in high school, and we finally reached the end. Honestly I was rooting for Luke out of the whole book. I would rather have liked this more if Quinlan came to her senses and realized that Luke was a better fit, since he seemed like a genuine nice guy. Well written as always. Just didn’t appreciate it as much as the original series. Still a fan as always.

3 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

